LENEXA, Kan. (June 23, 2016)—EY announced that the president and CEO of Mediware Information Systems, Inc., Kelly Mann, received the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2016 Award in the Central Midwest. The award recognizes outstanding entrepreneurs who demonstrate excellence and extraordinary success in such areas as innovation, financial performance and personal commitment to their businesses and communities. This year marks the 30th anniversary of the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Award program.

Mann was selected by an independent panel of judges, and the award was presented at a special black-tie gala event at the Arvest Bank Theatre at the Midland in Kansas City June 16. He was among 21 finalists in the Central Midwest region and was among seven selected for consideration at the Entrepreneur Of The Year 2016 national program, which will be presented in Palm Springs, California, on November 19, 2016.

“I am humbled that my team and this community nominated me to represent Mediware for this respected award,” said Mann, who joined the company in September 2007. “The Mediware team, including our board directors, our business leaders, our 600 employees and our private equity partners, Thomas Bravo, work tirelessly to produce products that successfully impact health care and human services operations throughout the country and abroad. It is truly a pleasure to be part of such a successful company,” stated Mann.

Since 1986, EY has honored entrepreneurs whose ingenuity, spirit of innovation and discipline have propelled their companies’ success, invigorated their industries and benefited their communities. In addition to the offerings in the blood management and medication management markets, Mann has played a major role in expanding Mediware’s position in the post-acute care and human and social services markets. The company traditionally acquires one to two companies each year, and Mann says those efforts will likely continue with the strong financial and supportive backing of Thomo Bravo. Mann also encourages and takes great pride in the company’s efforts to support the United Way campaign each year.

The Entrepreneur Of the Year program has honored the leadership of such entrepreneurs as Howard Schultz of Starbucks Coffee Company, Robert Unanue of Goya Foods, and Mindy Grossman of HSN. Recent US national winners include Reid Hoffman and Jeff Weiner of LinkedIn; Hamdi Ulukaya, founder of Chobani; and 2015 winners Andreas Bechtolsheim and Jayshree Ullal of Arista Networks.

Founded and produced by EY, the Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards are sponsored nationally by SAP America, Merrill Corporation and the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation. In the Central Midwest, region sponsors include: PNC Bank, Lathrop & Gage, Lockton Companies and Common Ground Public Relations.

Visit mediware.com for more information.