WASHINGTON, D.C. (October 4, 2018)—In June 2018, the Office of Inspector General for the Department of Health & Human Services reported that most Medicare claims for replacement positive airway pressure device supplies did not comply with Medicare requirements. A sample of 110 claims were reviewed, and 86 did not meet the requirements, totaling $13,414 in overpayments.

LENEXA, Kan. (March 7, 2017)—Mediware Information Systems, Inc. is hosting a free webinar for attendees on Thursday, April 20, 2017, at 1:00 Central, 2:00 EST, to learn the latest DME requirements regarding copayments from Medicare beneficiaries and commercial patients. The webinar is entitled “Waiver or Reduction of Medicare and Commercial Co-Payments: What DME Providers Can and Can’t Do,” presented by Jeffrey S. Baird, of Brown & Fortunato, P.C.  

LENEXA, Kan. (June 16, 2016)—Mediware Information Systems, Inc., is hosting a free webinar for attendees Wednesday, June 29, at 2 p.m. CST (3 p.m. EST) to discuss how to successfully grow your business through marketing strategies while staying within the law. The webinar is titled “Health Care Marketing Compliance 101: Protecting Your HME/DME from the OIG and DOJ,” presented by Matthew Agnew and Stephen Angelette of Polsinelli Health Care Regulatory Associates.

WASHINGTON, D.C. (June 9, 2016)—The Council for Quality Respiratory Care (CQRC)—a coalition of the nation’s leading home oxygen therapy provider and manufacturing companies—commended lawmakers in the House Ways & Means Health Subcommittee for reviewing legislation to sustain and improve the Medicare program, including the Patient Access to Durable Medical Equipment Act (PADME).

Why the CEO should not serve as the compliance officer