The University of Pittsburg recognized the company for their work during the International Seating Symposium

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (March 14, 2017)—The University of Pittsburgh’s Department of Rehabilitation Science and Technology (RST) recognized industry advocates during its Reach of RST Reception on March 3, 2017.

The reception, which was specifically for current RST students, faculty, alumni, staff and friends, was held during the 33rd annual International Seating Symposium in Nashville. During the reception, Rory Cooper, PhD, and distinguished professor of the RST department, presented medals to 12 CRT advocates who have made an impact to the department or the industry.  

“All of the recognized award winners were individuals who have supported the Department of Rehabilitation Science and Technology and have contributed to the advancement of our industry,” said Mark Schmeler, director of the continuing education program and assistant professor of the Department of Rehabilitation Science and Technology at University of Pittsburgh. “These industry advocates dedicate themselves and their resources to protect our industry and the patients we serve.”

Among those honored was Greg Packer, president of U.S. Rehab. U.S. Rehab has been working with Schmeler and his team on the Functional Mobility Assessment outcomes tool for the past two years.

“It’s an honor to be recognized for helping advance the industry and to share the stage with other CRT and outcomes trailblazers such as Jean Minkel, Don Clayback, Dr. Carmen DiGiovine and Silva Contepomi,” said Packer. “All of the recipients and many others have a passion for protecting the complex rehab industry, its providers and patients.”

Others receiving a medal for their support of the University of Pittsburgh’s RST program included Sabastian Salice, Bill Weninger, Geoff Bardsley, Peter Van de Vliet, Jue Wang, Nigel Shapcott and Chapel Khansnabis.  

Biennially hosted by the University of Pittsburgh, the 2017 International Seating Symposium was attended by approximately 2,400 people, representing more than 30 countries, all 50 states and eight of the 10 Canadian provinces.

Visit for more information.